Free Children

get-attachment.aspx

Children should not be subjected to management by parents. If you are the example, they will know… Trust & respect them.

“Kids grow up in spite of their parents.” Andy Browman

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Free Children

  1. tammyjreed says:

    total wisdom in just 3 lines! WOW.
    i was raised by a strict disciplinarian. but i had a little free spirit for a mother to offset his harshness.
    i’m still learning to give myself permission!!!
    i’m so glad you’re blogging now.
    😀

  2. cedar51 says:

    I grew up as well…although it appears from “things unsaid” I wasn’t expected to live to see even a learner-adult life. I had many problems…

    I still have those problems, but I manage them – most of the 🙂

  3. Rummuser says:

    You can congratulate Andy. I did and my son too did.

  4. Maria says:

    There is no doubt that being a good model for a child is extremely important. However, would you send a child into a game of soccer, football, or baseball without explaining the rules? I don’t think so nor should a parent raise a child without a dialogue on the concepts and values of living in the world. Giving all the information possible makes the game more interesting and gives the player the tools needed to reach the goal – be it life or sport.

    • bikehikebabe66 says:

      There’s a reply from a mother who raised 4 successful children. (And you’re not wrong because you didn’t disagree with me. Haha 🙂 )
      I learn by seeing (visual) & not so much by hearing (audio). Live the life you want your children to see & hopefully they’ll learn something.

  5. Cheerful Monk says:

    Yay, bikehikebabe!

  6. Not sure why my gravatar didn’t appear.

  7. theoldfossil says:

    I’m going to be the contrarian to some extent here. I think it depends upon the age. When young, you definitely manage many aspects of their lives. Some of it comes down to simple safety, such as running out into traffic or getting into a stranger’s car or going up to a chained, vicious dog. Sometimes it comes down to stopping abuse, such as preventing the child from making his or her own mural on the wall of the friend you are visiting.

    Later, as the years and the understanding grows, your stance becomes ever more true.

  8. Mark says:

    The problem with the world is that too many parents have neglected the responsibility of managing their children, setting a good example and providing structure and some level of security. What’s true is children should not be mismanaged!

  9. rummuser says:

    “Your children are not your children,
    They are the sons and daughters of life’s longing for itself.
    They come through you, but not from you.
    And though they are with you,
    they do not belong to you.
    Who they become has less to do with who you are,
    than who they are.
    You may give them your love,
    but not your thoughts or values.
    By your example, you show a way that is yours,
    as they search for theirs.
    You are the bow from which your children,
    as living arrows, are sent forth.
    The Archer sees the mark upon the path of the infinite,
    and he bends you with His might,
    that His arrows may go swift and far.
    Let your bending, in the Archer’s hand,
    be steadfastly true to yourself.
    For even as He loves the arrow that flies,
    so too does He love the bow that is strong and stable.”
    – Rubayats of Omar Khayyam

    • bikehikebabe66 says:

      When my children were little I felt like I owned them. Later they let me know I DID NOT. It took awhile for me to learn that lesson.

Leave a comment